



## Minutes from the EMS GENERAL COUNCIL MEETING

Held at *EMC 2024* in **LECTURE THEATER 1,** Copenhagen, Denmark on **Wednesday August 28 2024, 5:00 PM (local time)**.

Present at the meeting 11 EMS Board Members (non-voting), 27 representatives with voting rights from 20 national societies and 2 ECMA members (list annexed).

EMS Board Members present: José M. VALPUESTA (President), Virginie SERIN (Secretary), Christian SCHÖFER (Treasurer), Josef ZWECK (Past President) Klaus QVORTRUP (EMC representative), Marc PEETERS (ECMA representative) and Igor WEBER, Agnes KITTEL, Saso STURM, Randi HOLMESTAD & Servet TURAN (Board members).

According to the Constitution, a General Council consists of representatives of the National societies for microscopy that have adopted *en-bloc* membership of EMS: those that have less than 300 paying EMS members will have one representative with one vote. Societies with over 300 paying EMS members will have two representatives, each with one vote. Two representatives of ECMA (European Corporate Member Assembly) have voting rights in the General Council.

<u>Summary of the rules</u>: No meeting of the General Council shall have the power to make valid decisions unless more than 50% of all societies that decided for *en-bloc* membership of EMS are represented. In case of insufficient participation, decisions are postponed until the next meeting of the General Assembly or can be put-up for electronic voting by the EMS board. The General Council will be chaired by the President of EMS. Decisions of the General Council are taken by a simple majority of votes (>50%; in the event of an equal division of votes, the chairman shall make the final decision).

- 1. Welcome and confirmation of the agenda of the General Council by the EMS President José-Maria VALPUESTA.
- 2. Presentation and discussion of the proposals to hold the next EMC in 2028 (Spain, Czech Republic).

Two applications for the organization of EMC2028 were received by the deadline of June 1, 2024. The proposed sites were as follows:

- 1. Barcelona, Spain
- 2. Brno, Czeck Republic

President EMS Josef Zweck University of Regensburg Physics Faculty Electron Microscopy Laboratory Regensburg, Germany (+ 49) 94 1943 2590 josef.zweck@ur.de



General Secretary EMS Virginie Serin CEMES - CNRS Centre d'Élaboration de Matériaux et d'Etudes Structurales (UPR 8011) Toulouse, France (+33) 5 62 257867 sec@eurmicsoc.org **Treasurer EMS** Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna

Vienna, Austria (+43)14 0160 37713 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at

Permanent Secretariat: Marina Vita, MCO Congrès, Marseille, France + 33 4 9509 3800 ems@myeventonline.net





The two bidding teams presented their proposal to host EMC2028 (15min each). The questions (10min each) mainly dealt with:

- Venue
- Hotel accommodation capacity
- Scientific committee distribution
- Program
- Registration fees
- Exhibitors (sqm, fees, etc.)

The voting at the GC was made according to the *last one drops out* concept until one bid received a majority (> 50% of the votes (blank votes not included)). Ballot forms were provided for anonymous votes.

The results were:

- 1. Barcelona, Spain: 17 votes
- 2. Brno, Czeck Republic: 9 votes
- 3. Blank vote: 1 vote

## Barcelona was selected for the venue of the next EMC in 2028.

Any further matter to be discussed
None
Closing of the meeting: 6:00 PM (local time).

José M. Valpuesta EMS President

Virginie Serin EMS General Secretary

President EMS Josef Zweck University of Regensburg Physics Faculty Electron Microscopy Laboratory Regensburg, Germany (+ 49) 94 1943 2590 josef.zweck@ur.de



General Secretary EMS Virginie Serin CEMES - CNRS Centre d'Élaboration de Matériaux et d'Etudes Structurales (UPR 8011) Toulouse, France (+33) 5 62 257867 sec@eurmicsoc.org **Treasurer EMS** Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna

Vienna, Austria (+43)14 0160 37713 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at

Permanent Secretariat: Marina Vita, MCO Congrès, Marseille, France + 33 4 9509 3800 ems@myeventonline.net





## **Delegates present**

Austrian Society for Electron Microscopy (ASEM) : Gerd LEITINGER Belgian Society for Microscopy (BSM) : Sarah BALS, Philippe LECLERE Croatian Microscopy Society (CMS) : Igor WEBER Czechoslovak Microscopy Society (CSMS) : Vladislav KRZYZANEK, Miroslav SLOUF Electron Microscopy and Analysis Group (Institute of Physics, EMAG): Laura CLARK, Sarah HARPER European Corporate Member Assembly (ECMA): Marc PEETERS, Rune GEHRLEIN French Microscopy Society (FMS) : Jean Marc VERBAVATZ, Suzanne GIORGIO German Society for Electron Microscopy (DGE) : Katharina HIPP, Kerstin VOLZ Hungarian Society for Microscopy (HMS) : Agnes KITTEL Israel Society for Microscopy (ISM) : Lothar HOUBEN, Ifat KAPLAN-ASHIRI Italian Society of Microscopical Sciences (SISM) : Roberto BALBONI Nordic Microscopy Society (SCANDEM) : Kesara ANAMTHAWAT-JONSSON Polish Society for Microscopy (PTMi) : Joanna KARBOWNICZEK Portuguese Society for Microscopy (SPMicros) : Paulo FERREIRA Romanian Electron Microscopy Society (REMS) : Bogdan VASILE Royal Microscopy Society (RMS) : Paul VERKADE Serbian Society for Microscopy (SSM) : Dragan RAJNOVIC Slovene Society for Microscopy (SDM) : Kristina ŽAGAR SODERZNIK Spanish Society for Microscopy (SME) : Juande ALCHE Swiss Society for Optics and Microscopy : Robin SCHÄUBLIN Turkish Society for Electron Microscopy (TEMD) : Servet TURAN

President EMS Josef Zweck University of Regensburg Physics Faculty Electron Microscopy Laboratory Regensburg, Germany (+ 49) 94 1943 2590 josef.zweck@ur.de



General Secretary EMS Virginie Serin CEMES - CNRS Centre d'Élaboration de Matériaux et d'Etudes Structurales (UPR 8011) Toulouse, France (+33) 5 62 257867 sec@eurmicsoc.org **Treasurer EMS** Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna

Vienna, Austria (+43)14 0160 37713 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at

Permanent Secretariat: Marina Vita, MCO Congrès, Marseille, France + 33 4 9509 3800 ems@myeventonline.net